Bruce Hornsby & YMusic Announce Joint Album ‘Deep Sea Vents’

Bruce Hornsby and yMusic have announced the first joint album from their collaborative project BrhyM.

The album, titled Deep Sea Vents, is scheduled for release on March 1 via Zappo Productions/Thirty Tigers.

Deep Sea Vents was produced by Hornsby and yMusic’s Rob Moose, and recorded in Williamsburg, Virginia, and New York.

BrhyM shared the 10-track album’s lead single, “Deep Blue,” on Wednesday.

Speaking about the song, Hornsby said: “yMusic may be the funkiest, groovingest chamber group in all the land! Plus, I’m making my recorded debut as an electric sitarist on this piece – I have a limited range and not much ability, granted, but I feel it added a wry, exotic, and soulful texture to the song, so why not?”

He added, “In eighth grade we had a poetry section in English class, and Stephen Crane (The Red Badge Of Courage) was on the list. For some reason some of my friends and I thought two of his poems were a scream, so we never forgot them, and I couldn’t get them out of my mind after creating this track so just started singing them – voilà. The rest fairly much wrote itself, and Rob [Moose] and CJ [Camerieri] took over from there.”

BryhM is set to kick off its 15-date tour in Urbana, Illinois, on March 7.

Deep Sea Vents tracklist:

1 The Wild Whaling Life2 (My) Theory of Everything3 Platypus Wow4 Phase Change5 Foreign Sounds6 The Wake of St. Brendan7 Deep Blue8 The Baited Line9 Barber Booty10 Deep Sea Vents

Music News Service distributed by Frankly Media. Copyright(c) 2024 All Rights Reserved