Snow Patrol Announce New Album ‘The Forest Is The Path,’ Share Lead Single ‘The Beginning’

Snow Patrol have announced they will release a new album, titled The Forest Is The Path, on September 13 via Polydor Records.

The upcoming album is Snow Patrol’s first in six years, following Wildness, which arrived in 2018.

Snow Patrol, which consists of the trio of Gary Lightbody, Nathan Connolly and Johnny McDaid, co-produced the record with Fraser T Smith.

Snow Patrol also released the record’s first single, “The Beginning.”

“There is only you and me in this life/ And I don’t want to f-k it up now/ There is nothing for me in these past lives/ There is only what I wasn’t yet,” Lightbody sings on the swelling chorus.

Lightbody, Connolly and McDaid co-wrote The Forest Is The Path, which features 12 tracks in all. Fraser T Smith, Will Reynolds, Roy Kerr, and Troy Van Leeuwen (QOTSA) also contributed to the songwriting.

Lightbody did the artwork for the album and the first single.

Lightbody said The Forest Is The Path is an album rooted in reflection, introspection and interrogation.

“One of its key building blocks was the idea of love from the distance of time,” Lightbody said. “I haven’t been in a relationship for a very long time, 10 years or more, so love from a distance to me meant the way a relationship sits in your memory from a distance of, say, 10 years.”

“That’s not something I’d previously thought about as away to write about love. So it’s like, when you’re in love, you’re standing in the lobby of the Empire State Building,” he continued. “When you’ve broken up with that person, you’re out in the street. You can still see the building, but you’re not in there anymore. And when it’s 10 years later, now you’re standing in Brooklyn looking at the Manhattan skyline.”

Music News Service distributed by Frankly Media. Copyright(c) 2024 All Rights Reserved