The Who’s Pete Townshend To Release Half Speed Masters Of Two Classic Albums

The Who co-founder Pete Townshend will release half speed masters of two of his classic albums on May 17.

The limited-edition black vinyl versions of All The Best Cowboys Have Chinese Eyes and White City (A Novel) are the latest in a series of half speed mastered studio albums from Townshend.

They have been mastered by long-time Who engineer Jon Astley at Close To the Edge and cut for vinyl by Miles Showell at Abbey Road Studios.

Both albums are packaged in their original sleeves with obi strips and certificates of authenticity.

Initially released in June 1982, All The Best Cowboys Have Chinese Eyes was Townshend’s third solo album and contained two singles “Uniforms (Corp d’Esprit)” and “Face Dances Part 2.” The track “The Sea Refuses No River” has also been singled out as one of Townshend’s most underrated songs.

White City (A Novel) was Townshend’s next studio album, released in 1985.

A 60-minute long-form video directed by Richard Lowenstein, called White City: The Music Movie starring Townshend, Andrew Wilde and Francis Barber and featuring the singles “Face The Face” and “Give Blood,” was also released and included an interview with Townshend and the bonus song “Night School.”

All The Best Cowboys Have Chinese Eyes tracklist:


Stop Hurting PeopleThe Sea Refuses No RiverPreludeFace Dances Part TwoExquisitely BoredCommunication


Stardom In ActonUniformsNorth Country GirlSomebody Saved MeSlit Skirts

White City (A Novel) tracklist:


Give BloodBrilliant BluesFace The FaceHiding OutSecondhand Love


Crashing By DesignI Am SecureWhite City FightingCome To Mama

Music News Service distributed by Frankly Media. Copyright(c) 2024 All Rights Reserved